A little jaunt up the road and back

By Elizabeth Prata

I don’t usually go out on Saturdays but I was feeling restless so I drove out to check my mail, look for oversize 1$ tee shirts at The Special Store, and go for a little ride.

I like wearing loose tee shirts for my hanging around clothes, to use as an apron when I cool or clean, or otherwise don’t mind messing up. Hence, because I will mess them up, I do not want to pay a lot for them. A dollar is a good price.

At the corner of the little town up the road, things were hopping. The Shriners were out at “the intersection” yes, the only one, with their jugs to collect donations. The small but well attended farmer’s market was thriving over there on the other corner. I spotted sunflowers and watermelons and smiling people. On another corner, a lady was strolling down the sidewalk holding a small dog wearing a pink top hat. And on the fourth corner, a man sitting in a chair holding a huge sign that read

PLEASE REPENT

I love it.

I found 4 shirts for a total of 4 dollars, and a $2 piece of agate. Then I went on my way taking photos.

Please forgive the less than stellar photo quality, the road is a busy one and I snapped these while driving, watching for traffic, pedestrians, and other vehicles. Some of them I took through my windshield.

Colorful house
Sweet little patio
Church and shrubbery
Gray matter
Watermelons for sale
Wayside cross on a hill
Gospel barn

Have a nice weekend, everyone!

Leave a comment